The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
by Douglas Adams

Humans, it turns out, are not the most intelligent life form on planet Earth. Nor, as popularly thought, are dolphins. As it turns out, the whole planet is actually one giant computer created for the mice, who are using it to find out the question to the answer to life, the universe, and everything. Unfortunately, after ten million years, five minutes before the program would have finished the planet is destroyed to make room for a hyperspace bypass.

So starts the Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, a new collection containing all six novels in the Hitchhiker’s Guide series. This book may severely test your tolerance for nonsense; things often happen for no logical reason, and the vastly improbably happens with great regularity, due in part to the Infinite Improbability Drive powering the starship stolen by Zaphod Beeblebrox, the president of the galaxy.

Add in a depressed robot, an earthman snatched from Earth immediately before its destruction, doors that are entirely too cheerful, the loudest band in the galaxy and intelligent shades of blue, and you’re left with 815 pages of highly engrossing reading. If you’re ready to laugh along with quite a bit of silliness, this is the book for you.

[rating: 5/5]



This entry was posted by William on Wednesday, August 4th, 2010 at 8:47 pm and is filed under Science Fiction . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply